AMEF Recognition Award

The AMEF Recognition Award is presented yearly at Music Conference Alberta. This prestigious award was established to recognize music educators (kindergarten through college, in private and public schools and studio teachers) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education in Alberta.

Colleagues, students, friends or other community members are encouraged to make a submission to recognize a deserving individual that has pursued excellence in music education in any genre.

Deadline to submit: August 31, 2023



2022 Recipient

Marilyn Engle | Calgary, AB

Marilyn Engle

Pianist Marilyn Engle began her studies with the renowned Calgary pedagogue, Gladys McKelvie Egbert and went on to earn undergraduate and graduate degrees from the Juilliard School and New York University. Further studies in Europe followed.

A self-avowed life-long learner, she gained immeasurably from her participation in and observation of master classes and chamber music groups in New York, Europe, Asia, and Canada. A winner of several provincial, national, and international competitions that led to performances internationally, in concert and on radio and television, she then accepted a Professorship at the University of Calgary. An intensive dedication to teaching followed, both at the University of Calgary, the Academy Program at Mount Royal University, as well as nationally and internationally, in America, Europe, and Asia. She was the first Professor to be inducted into the University of Calgary Teaching Hall of Fame.

Over several decades, Marilyn Engle has taught and mentored pianists, piano teachers, and chamber groups. She counts among her proudest “musical children and grandchildren” several performers, administrators, and teachers of international renown.

 A-Win Insurance

sponsored by A-Win Insurance (Solutions Group), Dawn Leite, broker

Past Recipients

Bill Wahl | Michael Massey | John Kadz | David Tutt | Linda Burwell | William van der Sloot | Lary Benson | Roberta Stephen | Mark Friesen | Dr. Leonard Ratzlaff | Nathene Arthur | Kim Mattice-Wanat | Alexandra Munn | Pat Frehlich | Monica Baczuk | Dale S. Jackson